Submitted by Brad Lay

History was made in Gilmer County at Cedar Creek State Park in August. A Porter Wagoner J.A.K.E.S. event was held, sponsored by the Little Kanawha Longbeard Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation. The group held their first Juniors Acquiring Knowledge of Ethics and Sportsmanship (J.A.K.E.S.) event, with a large attendance.

The weather cooperated for the 69 youths and 87 adults from Gilmer, Calhoun, Braxton, Tyler, Roane, Lewis and Kanawha counties, that gathered for a day of education, food and fun.

Kids and adults had an opportunity to experience air rifles, archery, fishing, turkey calling, first aid, trapping and hunter education.

The LK Longbeard group would like to thank these people for their support: Beron Electric, Glenville Mountaineer Mart, Glenville Foodland, Glenville Democrat, Glenville Western Auto, Minnie Hamilton Health Care, Gilmer Primary Care, Hur Herald, Frito-Lay, Miller Archery, Little Kanawha Trading Post, John Westfall D.D.S, Smith Land Surveying, Stalnaker Energy, Dr. Rudy Kevak, M.D., Lane Smith Circuit Clerk, Spencer Walmart, Lara Chapman, Steve& Jan Whited, Traders Guide, Tom Fox, Lisa Nicholas, Brad & Barb Lay, Denzil Hess, Matt Barkley, Kevin Miller, Chris McCormick, Cam Nicholas, Randy McAdams, Nobe Nock Busters, Holberts Store, I.L. Morris, Shirley Fitzwater, Glenville Hardware, Cedar Creek State Park, Gilmer Co. Parks and Recreation, Calhoun Banks, Harold Wilson, Stephanie Richards, Parsons One Stop.

By teaching outdoor skills, safe gun handling, sportsmanship and ethics to our youth, the group is passing down a hunting heritage that may be continued to the next generation.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021