Photos and captions by Rick Brewer

A special assemby will be held at 9:30 a.m. this morning (Monday) at Calhoun Middle/High School to recognize a team of wrestling champions and the coach who helped get them there. The public is invited to attend.

Calhoun's winnng team came in second in class AA/A in the State Wrestling Tournament Saturday in Huntington (197.5), with Oak Glen from Hancock County (216.5) the first place winners for the sixth year in a row.

Chris Morris was declared the Most Valuable Player in the AA/A tournament, and Calhoun's hard working wrestling coach Mike Stump was declared AA/A Coach of the Year, an exemplary achievement for Calhoun High School.

The Red Devil team produced three West Virginia State Champs.

Justin Ashley 112 lb - Chris Morris 125 lb (A two time winner) - Derek Metz 130 lb - Jeff Morris, brother of Chris, was a second place winner.

Spotlight parade before final round

Justin Ashley wins State Title at 112 lb

Justin gives Coach Stump victory hug

Proud father Matt Ashley embraces his son State Champion Justin

Chris Morris battles Ritchie County's Ryan Bumgardner for the State Title

Chris Morris wins the match and is two-time State Champ

Chris Morris gives coach Stump a victory embrace

Derek Metz raises his hands in victory, he is now State Champion

Derek Metz gives coach Stump a well deserved victory hug

Derek Metz shares victory with his biggest fan, his dad

Proud grandpa Metz gives his favorite wrestler a big hug

Red Devils, Team of Champions

Red Devil State Champions, Justin Ashley, Chris Morris and Derek Metz

Coach Stump is buried as wrestlers congratulate him on winning
the Coach of The Year In AA/A

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021