TEAM BON JOVI - WV - Sport Riders Beat Black Bear


Submitted by Diann Clothier

Kanawha State Forest, Sunday, 7-18-04 Team Bon Jovi/West Virginia was back on the WV Mountain Bike Association Point Series attack after a 6 week break, with Sport riders Michael Haid (sport 26-34) and Chris Flick (sport 19-25) grabbing 1st place finishes.

Known as the "scariest race in WV", the Black Bear 40K at Kanawha State Forest featured a newly re-configured race course that appeared to be a hit with all the riders - but in addition to the 2 first place finishes, Team Bon Jovi/WV riders also came up with three 2nd place spots - Andrew Fetty (Jr. Expert), Mandi Riddle (Women's Expert), and Cai Clothier (Jr. 14 and under).

Joey Riddle, Men's Expert, placed 3rd, Wesley Stafford, Sport Vet 35+, placed 4th, Bryan Fawley, Men's Expert, placed 5th, and Courtney Dudley, Women's Expert, placed 6th.

Race Director Steve Marshall obviously did the weather dance for his first version of the "Black Bear 40K", as the fore-casted rain did not come, and the temperatures stayed somewhere in the mid-70's to low 80's - perfect racing weather for sure! Kudos to Steve and his volunteers for an excellent course and race!

See Team Bon Jovi/West Virginia next at the White Oak Challenge, Watter Smith State Park, for the 9th WVMBA Point Series Race, on Sunday, July 25th, at noon. Team Bon Jovi/West Virginia is sponsored by Jon Bon Jovi (yes, the rock star!), Worldwide Chiropractic and Sports Medicine, Maple Creative, Charleston Bicycle Center, Kenda Tires. Cannondale, Pactimo, Fetty Intensive Training, Hydrapak, and Curve Socks. Please visit our web site at for more information and contact information.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021