TEAM BON JOVI-WV - Four Take First Place-Big Bear Lake Mountain Classic


Submitted by Diann Clothier

Sunday morning, April 25th, erupted with the blast of thunder at Big Bear Lake, near Hazelton WV, awakening camping mountain bikers at 6:30 a.m. After a brief but furious downpour, the day cleared up, and Team Bon Jovi/West Virginia cleaned-up with 4 first place finishes: Bryan Fawley, Men's Pro/Expert, cruised the 19 mile expert course in 1:31:35; Mandi Riddle, racing Women's Pro/Expert, finished the same course in 2:01:52; new team member Chris Flick, racing Men's Sport 19-15, finished his 14 mile course in 1:19:09; and Cai Clothier, racing Men's Junior 14 and Under, completed his 9 mile course in 1:21:23.

Other team members suffered multiple flats - Clay Evans had 2, and Joey Riddle flatted out an astounding 6 times!Clay Evans (Men's Pro/Expert) finished 4th, but Joey Riddle (Men's Pro/Expert) disqualified himself for accepting tubes and air canisters - who carries 6 spare tubes?

Andrew Fetty, racing Men's Junior Expert, came in 2nd at 2:08:50, and Steve Thaxton (Men's Expert Vet) and Michael Haid (Men's Sport 26-34) both finished 7th in their classes.

The Big Bear Mountain Classic had a great turnout - 189 folks showed up for the race. There was some confusion during the race in the Expert/Pro ranks - it seems that almost half of them took a wrong turn ...

Team Bon Jovi/West Virginia is sponsored by Jon Bon Jovi (yes, the rock star!), Worldwide Chiropractic and Sports Medicine, Maple Creative, Charleston Bicycle Center, Kenda Tires, Cannondale, Pactimo, Fetty Intensive Training, Hydrapak, and Curve Socks.

For more information and contact info visit the web site at

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021