By Gaylen Duskey SPORTS EDITOR

Fourth with one state champion. That was Calhoun's lot in the West Virginia High School Class AA-A State Tournament held this weekend in Huntington.

Led by tournament Outstanding Wrestler Justin Ashley the Red Devils had 102 points to narrowly edge Shady Spring by 5.5 points for fourth place. Oak Glen won the state title with 229 points. Cameron was second with 147.5 while Williamstown was third with 129.5.

Ashley pinned David Haws of Bridgeport at 5:05 of the championship match to raise his record to 42-1. He is a three-time state champion. He has a career record of 129-2. He was 43-1 as a sophomore, 44-0 as a junior and 42-1 as a senior. He did not wrestle his freshman year because of injuries.

Calhoun had three wrestlers in the finals, but Ashley was the only one to walk away with a state title.

Andrew Cummings finished second at 135 when he dropped a 3-2 decision to Brennon Chambers of Oak Glen. Cummings finished the season with a 37-6 record.

Calhoun senior Eric Metz suffered his first loss of the season in the championship match when Oak Glen's Rhett Northcraft scored a 5-3 victory. Metz finished the season with a 44-1 record.

Calhoun got a fourth-place from Paul Goodrich at 160 pounds. Goodrich advanced to the consolation finals before losing to Matt Mason of Berkeley Springs 7-5. Goodrich finished the season with a 41-5 record.

Jaron Sampson was sixth for the Red Devils and finished his season with a 29-14 record at 119 pounds.

Three other Red Devils advanced to the state tournament including Eddie Burrows (112), Justin Ramsey (125) and Justin price (140). They did not place in the top six.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021