CALHOUN KNOCKS OUT WAHAMA - Red Devils's Defense Stifles Falcons


By Gaylen Duskey SPORTS EDITOR

Calhoun County Coach Tim Davis gave his players a goal before Tuesday night's game at Wahama - hold the Falcons below 40 points.

The Red Devils did just that but there was nothing to spare as they beat Wahama 61-39.

"We didn't do a lot of things well," Davis said, "but the boys did keep them from getting 40."

Calhoun started the game ice cold and fell behind the Falcons 9-2 before finding their scoring stroke midway through the first period.

"We just didn't play good early," Davis said.

The Red Devils did not grab the lead until the last minute of the quarter and then went on top by four, 16-12, at the end of one.

From there Calhoun slowly pulled away. The Red Devils led by seven, 31-24, at the half and by 17, 49-32, before pulling away to the 22-point victory.

Marcus Davis led Calhoun with 22 while Jake Perkins added 20 and Zach Houchin 11. Perkins also had a game high 14 rebounds and five steals while Houchin dished out seven assists.

Chris Sampson added six and Ryan 'Goob' Fitzwater two. Mike Batten, Tristan Harris, Derek Roberts, Tommy Gerwig and Chad Conley all played but did not score for the 13-5 Red Devils.

Aaron Faulk scored 18 to lead Wahama.

In the junior varsity game Wahama came away with a 64-53 win despite the efforts of Gerwig and Conley who had 26 and 15 respectively.

Calhoun is idle until Saturday at 5:30 p.m. when it plays Parkersburg Catholic for third place in the Little Kanawha Night of Champions at Parkersburg High School.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021