CALHOUN INVITATIONAL TODAY - Red Devils Wrestling In Front Of School


By Gaylen Duskey SPORTS EDITOR

It is supposed to snow Saturday. So what else is new? It always seems like it snows for the Calhoun Invitational Wrestling Tournament.

This is the 24th Calhoun Invitational and the Red Devils are the defending champion again.

Calhoun comes into the tournament with a great deal of momentum gained by crushing the competition in last weekend's Braxton Big 16. The Red Devils won by 64 points 225-161 over runner up Shady Spring.

Braxton, which is scheduled to be at the Calhoun Invitational, was half a point back.

Other teams scheduled to compete are Clay County, Greenbrier West, Liberty-Harrison, Sissonville, Ritchie County, Fayetteville, Belpre, Ohio, and Woodrow Wilson High School from Washington, D.C. Wrestling gets under way Saturday at 10:30 a.m. and continues throughout the day. The Red Devils and Woodrow Wilson will face each other in a dual match in today at 2 p.m. in front of the school's student body.

Calhoun's lineup for the tournament should include:

103 Bryan Gungle, 16-7, was second at Braxton County.

112 Eddie Burrows, 14-7, took fifth at Braxton County.

119 Jaron Sampson, 16-8, was fifth at Braxton County.

125 Justin Ramsey, 21-8, was third at Braxton County.

130 Justin Ashley, 25-1, was the champion at Braxton County.

135 Andrew Cummings, 22-4, was champion at Braxton County.

140 Justin Price, 18-7, took third at Braxton County.

145 Dustyn Nichols, 12-11, placed fifth at Braxton County.

152 Eric Metz, 26-0, was champion at Braxton County.

160 Paul Goodrich, 27-1, was champion at Braxton County.

171 Dustin Carpenter, 7-9.

189 Michael Roberts, 11-11.

215 Justin Whipkey, 8-10.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021