By Gaylen Duskey SPORTS EDITOR

Once again Calhoun finished in third place in the Nitro Invitational. Once again the Red Devils were the top AA-A team in this tough tournament.

Once again the Red Devils crowned a couple of champions.

But for the first time in his career one of them was not Justin Ashley.

Ashley had a 100-plus winning streak snapped and dropped to 110-2 on his career with the late 6-3 loss to Justin Lodge of North Marion. This season Ashley is 23-1.

While Ashley lost in the finals two of his teammates - Eric Metz and Paul Goodrich - walked away with titles.

The win lifted Metz to 22-0 on the season as Calhoun's last unbeaten wrestler.

Goodrich ran his record to 23-1 on the season with his victory in the finals.

Other Calhoun placers included Justin Ramsey, fourth at 125; Andrew Cummings, fifth at 135; Eddie Burrows, sixth at 102; Bryan Gungle sixth at 112 and Justin Price sixth at 140.

Because of inclement weather the tournament was held on one day (Saturday) instead of two (Friday and Saturday) and wrestlers who were beaten in the first round did not advance.

Calhoun had five wrestlers in that category including Jaron Sampson, Dustin Nichols, Dustin Carpenter, Michael Roberts and Justin Whipkey.

According to Calhoun coach Mike Stump, that probably kept the Red Devils from scoring more points than they did.

"It's s tough tournament," Stump said, "and we learned a lot about where we are and where we need to go. Still we're not at the halfway point of the season."

The Red Devils return to action Friday and Saturday in the Braxton County Big 16 at Gassaway.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021