By Gaylen Duskey

Calhoun County will play its first game of 2004 this evening at 6:00 in the opening game of the Clarksburg Notre Dame Tournament. The Red Devils will play unbeaten Charleston Catholic.

Calhoun coach Tim Davis thinks the Fighting Irish are a formidable foe.

"They are big. They are unbeaten," Davis said. "They beat Roane pretty handily."

The Fighting Irish are 6-5, 6-4, 6-4 up front and have a pair of veteran guards in the backcourt.

"We'll have to see how we match up against them," Davis said. "Hopefully we can speed the game up a bit."

Calhoun comes into the contest with a 2-1 record after back-to-back lopsided wins following a season-opening loss to Roane.

The Red Devils are led in scoring by junior forward Jake Perkins with a 20.7 average. Marcus Davis is next at 20.0 while Tristan Harris averages 10.0.

Davis, Calhoun's two-time all state player, has been hobbled by a high ankle sprain suffered midway through the football season. His father and coach thinks it may be coming around.

"We had a real good practice today (Thursday) and Marcus looked quicker than he has looked all year," Davis said. "We had kept him off his leg during the (holiday) break and that has helped. Then he has lost quite a bit of weight and that has helped too."

Davis said that the younger Davis seemed to regain his shooting touch in Thursday's practice.

"He found the range behind the three-point line," Davis said. "I hope he keeps it up the rest of the season."

In tonight's second game host Clarksburg Notre Dame takes on Weirton Madonna. The winners play for the championship Saturday night. Calhoun is the defending champion.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021