The "new" Calhoun Middle-High School
thirteen years after official opening

By Bob Weaver 1998

Twenty-one years after the official opening of Calhoun Middle-High School at Mt. Zion, it is still referred to as "the new school."

That may be because of few new things in the county, or the fact that the old school, the county's only high school at Grantsville, was an institution after 77 years.

The cornerstone ceremony was held on June 25, 1998 with Gov. Cecil Underwood and his wife, Hovah Hall, a Calhoun native coming to the official opening on August 25.

Superintendent Ron Blankenship speaks
during cornerstone dedication in 1998

Attending ceremony (L to R) board members, Lee Evans, Ralph Cunningham, Rick Fitzwater, Jerry Malona, Carlene Frederick, Lions Club president and school teacher Bob Bonar and superintendent Blankenship

Grantsville Lions Club members and Boy Scouts

The new school was built after a bitter struggle over school consolidation and funding, with the closure of Minnora and Brooksville schools.

Construction began on the school in 1996, after the county was awarded $13,865,128 from the School Building Authority and $2,138,810 was approved by Calhoun voters.

The school serves all county students, grades 5 through 12.

High school students occupy classrooms located in the front of the building, with middle school students located in the back of the building.

A major volunteer effort was launched to complete the school's athletic complex.

School musical group "Vandalias" perform for ceremony

Administrator Donnie Pitts gives tours of new facility

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019